The UNESCO convention on the protection and promotion of the diversity of cultural expression will be able enter into force in three months time, following its ratification by a sufficient number of countries yesterday.

The required number of 30 ratifications was reached on 18 December when the Community, joined by twelve Member States (Austria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) deposited their instruments of ratification at the UNESCO headquarters in Paris.

Bulgaria also ratified yesterday in Paris at the end of this joint ratification.

Press release details

Press release type