This publication reviews trends in the organisation of higher education in the 45 countries signatory to the Bologna Declaration at the time of the London Conference (May 2007).

It reports on each of the aims of the Bologna Process for the establishment of a European higher education area by 2010, namely adoption of a three-cycle structure (Bachelor/Master/Doctorate), introduction of the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS), the provision of the Diploma Supplement, the recognition of joint degrees, the introduction of national qualifications frameworks and the development of quality assurance in higher education. It also describes the incentives introduced at national level to encourage higher education to adapt to the aims of the Bologna Process.

News details