Cultural cooperation in Europe : Study on cultural cooperation in Europe in the various cultural and artistic fields

The study has analysed 31 European countries namely the 15 current European Union member states, the 13 accession countries and 3 members of the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway). The organisations under scrutiny are national authorities (governmental departments or agencies operating at arms length from governments, such as Arts Councils where they exist); national cultural institutions (national cultural institutes committed to the promotion abroad of the culture and the language of their state; and national cultural organisations, such as a National Theatre, a National Museum, a National Orchestra or a National Library); and any other public authorities which have been specifically given the remit by national authorities for conducting transnational cultural cooperation, including local and regional authorities where applicable.

The main objective of this study is to provide a description and analysis of the current situation, as well as of present and future trends in cultural cooperation amongst the 31 European countries mentioned above.

News details